Nervous Lab Mix - in need of loving petsitter in Madrid

House Sitter Needed for Username: laniandloli   

Save

Posted or Updated: Jun 15,2021   Applications: 3

Location
Centro, Madrid, Madrid
Madrid Spain

View location map
Availability
From: Jun 21,21  
To:      Jul 21,21
Days:  31, Short Medium Term Dates are flexible, anytime in the summer.

Hello,

I am Lani and Loli is my 2yo borador (lab/collie) rescue dog that I adopted 9 months ago. We have pretty much been inseparable since Loli arrived to me in Madrid from the shelter in Sevilla. 

ABOUT ME. My name is Melanie (Lani) and I am a Kiwi/Aussie/French gal who spent most of her grown up years in New York.  I currently live in Madrid. Previously I was a digital nomad traveling the world, and like you, I was also a housesitter and petsitter. I work as an English teacher and freelance online in multimedia. I also dabble in filmmaking and acting, and volunteer with animals. 

WHY DO I NEED A SITTER. I have a few important business trips to go on this summer, and I have been putting them off because I did not want to leave Loli, as she is so attached to me, and because of her problems. But I REALLY need to go. I would also REALLY like, after such a long winter, to spend some time at the beach with friends. 

WHEN. My dates are very flexible. I can work with you on this one. Anytime in the summer. The sooner the better really. For about 3-4 weeks, and perhaps again for a week or two later on. 

ABOUT LOLI. Before Loli arrived to me, she had a really rough life. She was in a house where she was badly abused and then abandoned on a farm, and then the nightmare unfortunately didn't end there. A bunch of teens frequented the farm to drink regularly, and they also abused her. As a result, Loli has a lot of phobias, anxiety, PTSD. Luckily a neighbour was witness to this and gave Loli food/water on most days and eventually contacted the shelter. Loli was such a smart cookie and so vigilant that it took them three days, many people, many traps, before they were able to catch her. 

LOLI IN THE HOUSE VS OUTSIDE. In the house Loli has become a loving, kind girl; playful, cute and funny. She is so smart and has picked up so many words, it's incredible! However she still remains very vigilant if she hears people outside the door or anyone other than myself and my flatmate enter the house. The hardest part is going outside. She is extremely hypervigilant, scared, hyperventilates. She is in fight-or-flight mode most of the time, stubborn, fearful, like a different dog. I have to admit, some walks are really not enjoyable. Sometimes she refuses to walk and even tries to get out of her harness. After all these months however, I have figured out how to handle this and I will show you. All that being said, I am starting her very shortly on CBD oil which is supposed to be life changing for dogs with anxiety and PTSD. Also, we have a regular route we go on whenever we walk, and she seems to like it, it's quieter and mostly away from crowds. 

LOLI IS SCARED OF: soccer balls, basketballs, anyone playing sports with balls, shadows on the wall or ceiling (but she is getting better), loud shouting or screaming, drunk people, crowded bustling noises or places, children, babies, guitars, buskers (but she is getting better). 

The following will be required:

1. Feed Loli twice a day - a very easy mix you will make up, of veges from the fridge, rice, oats and some organic canned meat.

2. Give her treats during the day, maybe some kibble, keep her entertained with her toys, play with her a little here and there.

3. One long walk and one short walk. This being said... depending on her "fear state" (it changes all the time) maybe just 3-4 mini walks around the block. 

4. Clean up if she goes to the toilet on her puppy pad. It's not everyday. 

5. Brush her coat, brush her teeth, once a week.

6. Sweep the floors in the house once a day... Loli hair can be insane if not swept up once a day

You will enjoy the following:

1. You will be in the CENTER of Madrid, next to Plaza Mayor, literally!

2. You can go sightseeing, there are many things to see and do in Madrid, even with covid. Bars, restaurants, shops, everything is open. I would ask that Loli not be left more than 4-5 hours maximum alone. She has never been left alone longer than this.

3. You will have your own large room with a king size bed, fully furnished house. Balconies in bedroom and living room. 

4. Netflix and regular TV in the living room

5. My flatmate. Her bedroom is on the other side of the apartment, so lots of privacy, but you do share the bathroom. Apartment is around 100m2. She has been here for 8 months, works as a teacher and also freelances as a writer. She would be very happy to join you on walks. Tricia is from Manila. She still loves visiting Madrid, so she can give you advice or even join you.

6. Lots of amazing parks and nature in Madrid

7. No bills to pay

8. 2-5 minutes walk from at least 4 different subways. But you can walk everywhere in the Centro

9. High speed internet

Please note: I don't have air con, just a fan. The summer is hot here. However the flat has high ceilings and shutters to keep out most of the heat. 

Contact Home Owner


Please click on the register button below to register as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


OR


Contact Home Owner


, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please click button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)




OR

Close this window to continue browsing.

laniandloli is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


  

Save Housesit


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners


OR