Spend a beautiful time near Victoria, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

House Sitter Needed for Username: LadyPilgrim   


Posted or Updated: Sep 2,2023   Applications: 6

Metchosin, Vancouver Island, VICTORIA
VICTORIA,British Columbia Canada

View location map
From: Nov 1,23  
To:      Feb 29,24
Days:  121, Long Term approximate

Welcome to Vancouver Island, BC!

Our hope is to find an individual or couple who will over-see and care of our property in Victoria, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, while we are away for approx. 4 months during Nov. 1st to end of February.


Our 1200 sq. ft. home located on 4 acres of trees and grassy field in the rural District of Metchosin 20 minutes west of Victoria British Columbia. where visits from deer, owls rabbits, eagles and other wildlife are routine. We are surrounded by many beautiful parks and cycling trails. Local parks are within a km or two from the house and include short or long distance hikes thru grassy fields, treed paths that lead to the ocean with secluded beaches, small islands and gorgeous mountain views. A kayaker's paradise for an afternoon paddle!! Vancouver Island in general is a paradise for sports and outdoor activities.

For the cyclists there are hundreds of km of trails including our “World famous” Galloping Goose bike trail, formally a narrow gauge railway that can lead to Downtown Victoria or into the wilderness of Sooke Potholes a magical area across long wooden trestles and boarding the Sooke River,or other equally intriguing areas.

For the garden enthusiast the famous Butchart Gardens. A must see especially around Christmas. 

For those with a creative arts passion Metchosin is hot bed of writers, ceramists artists, photographers. As a resident you will be welcome to participate at the community local arts center or drop into and participate in the 50 to 80 voices Rough Voices Singers, an eclectic gang of young and older people who just want to sing their hearts out with a varied repertoire. So there is lots to get involved in.

SHOPPING: Modern shopping centers, pubs and restaurants are within approx. 7 km. A new Quality Food super market for groceries is approx 1 km away.

WEATHER mostly above freezing up to degrees C during the winter

Note: WIFI is included but no TV

Responsibility required from the House Sitter:

As well as keeping the house tidy and safe, some other things we need are: a few house plants watered; mail collocated at the mailbox; feed some wild birds. Some years we get a bit of snow so the driveway would need to be cleared to get your vehicle out. (About 50 feet); 2 vehicles started and run in place for 15 min. every 3 weeks.

Since we are situated on a rural property where unusual maintenance problems can occur, we would give preference to those persons that have practical skills for dealing with minor issues that could arise. For example, situation to do with plumbing or electrical issues or a fallen tree in the wrong place or make a small ditch to redirect water etc.


1200 sq ft.. main floor with basement, 2 bedrooms: 2 bathrooms, mostly hardwood floors on main floor.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

LadyPilgrim is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners