Oceanfront Home, Two Senior Dogs, and a Cat

House Sitter Needed for Username: Reba_Tug_Gus   


Posted or Updated: Mar 30,2022   Reviews (1)   Applications: 2

Copper Bluffs, Quadra Island, Heriot Bay
Heriot Bay,British Columbia Canada

View location map
From: Jun 13,22  
To:      Jun 20,22
Days:  8, Short Term Confirmed

The Pets

We are looking for a mature couple to care for our 10 and 12-year-old dogs, and our cat.  The dogs need escorted trips outdoors during the day and a short walk along the lane and back each day.  The cat has his own door and is very independent.  The 12-year-old dog is quite arthritic but is on medication for pain and inflammation and still enthusiastic about being outside.  

The Home

Our home is on a mossy bluff looking out at Discovery Passage.  Coming from seagoing ancestors, we refer to the kitchen as "the bridge".  The view is much like being at the bow of a ship.  The guest room upstairs has a view of the bay nearby.  It also has its own 3-piece ensuite.  The main floor contains the masterbedroom, ensuite, living room, main washroom, kitchen, pantry, laundry and dining area.  We expect that applicants would be tidy and take good care of our home and contents. Our well is low-flow and in warmer weather conserving water is a must.  Please familiarize yourself with the meaning of a "seafarer's or sailor's shower".  We follow the technique all summer.  The water is filtered and treated so safe to drink from the tap.  

Getting Here and the Geography

Our home is at the end of the road quite literally.  We are a 15-minute drive from Heriot Bay, the closest community with a grocery store, famously old hotel called the Heriot Bay Inn (HBI), post office, and government dock.  We access our place via a forest service road (with active logging truck use during the week) as well as public gravel roads that are relatively well-maintained.  The condition of the forest service road is dependent on the forest companies.  We would not suggest someone arrive in a favourite, road-skimming sports car.  At times, we drive around potholes, carefully watching for oncoming vehicles (which are few and far between).  We live on rough terrain; good walking shoes or hiking boots are the norm for footwear.


Our home looks out on some of the most spectacular diving spots on the BC coast, whether you prefer snorkelling or scuba diving.  From our living room you can watch divers explore a Fraser River ferry that sank near May Island many years ago.  It is home to many sea creatures. The bay nearby is a great spot to come and go from by kayak; we would recommend a solid knowledge of Discovery Passage tide/current tables.  Gowlland Harbour is a safe area for getting used to being on local waters.  The water is very cold due to the tide and current activity.

Interested? Have Questions?

We look forward to hearing from you,

Janet and Doug

House Sitter Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ What a lovely sit, the location and house is wonderful, great pets, and Doug and Janet were so welcoming! ”

Sit Dates Jun-13-22 - Jun-20-22 Sitter 2iscompany2, Member Since Jan-1-10

Doug and Janet gave us such a warm welcome, we felt we had known them for years instead of a few hours. Our stay in their lovely home with expansive views of the Inside Passage was a real treat, especially as we watched the very-active marine traffic, including the cruise ships gliding silently by on their way to and from Alaska. 
Their elderly dogs, Reba and Tug were a real pleasure to look after. They are loving and so easy to care for. Gus, the cat, is a bit more elusive but did come from time to time for some love.

All in all, this was a great house/pet sit and we would not hesitate to accept if Doug and Janet ever feel the need for another vacation! 

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Reba_Tug_Gus is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners