Sitter needed for our lovely home and 4 pets in Medicine Hat AB

House Sitter Needed for Username: medhatters   


Posted or Updated: Feb 9,2024   Applications: 0

Ranchlands, Northeast, Medicine Hat
CA-AB,Alberta Canada

View location map
From: Nov 4,24  
To:      Nov 27,24
Days:  24, Short Medium Term

We are hoping to find a mature couple or person to care for our single family home and four pets.  We are retired teachers who love to travel but also love our animals. Sometimes we take our dogs with us and then you would only have the cats and house to care for. 

Our house is about 12 years old, has been recently renovated, has central heating and A/C plus 2 gas fireplaces.  We have 3 TVs with cable(with HBO), Netflix, Prime, and Apple TV.  There is a fully equipped kitchen which you will be free to use.  Outside there is a fully fenced yard, and the house has a double garage with automatic opener which the sitter can use while we are away.  We are on the edge of Medicine Hat so there are lots of wild deer and bunnies in our neighbourhood.  We are also close to lots of views and walking trails.  

Medicine Hat is a city of about 65,000 people(large enough to have a Costco), and gets more days of sunshine than any other city in Canada.  We have lots of hot summer temps(+30) and winter days vary greatly from Chinooks(warm winter winds) to days as low as -25.  Our snowfall is much less than in Eastern Canada and often melts several times through the winter months: often a toss-up as to whether we'll have a white Christmas.  In summer, you'll see wild cactus growing beside the walking trails.  

Sitters will be needed to feed and brush all animals, scoop two litter boxes each day and not mind if pets sleep with them.  The dogs have lots of toys so you can play with them.  I will leave written instuctions about all their behaviours and preferences.  The cats are mainly indoor although our black one (Allie) likes to go out in the yard to chase bugs. They are 7 years old so pretty settled. The dogs are almost two, so still pretty active but well house trained.  They are very small (Morkies) at only 7 pounds each.  They need to be walked once or twice a day weather permitting.  If all four pets are present, it's a busy household.  You'll need to do some light vacuuming as our long haired cat (Sasha) sheds a lot.  Also depending on the season and length of stay there might be some snow removal or lawn mowing.  

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

medhatters is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners