7 Nov.,'22 to 10 Jan. '23 North of Santa Fe, NM: 3 loving pets in a beautiful hacienda

House Sitter Needed for Username: Dogchef   


Posted or Updated: Jul 26,2022   Applications: 4

Nambe, rural 20 milesNorth, SANTA FE
SANTA FE,New Mexico United States

View location map
From: Nov 7,22  
To:      Jan 10,23
Days:  65, Medium Long Term Arriving 2-3 days earlier could help

Looking for a mature, non-smoking , pet-loving, fit couple who are older dog and cat savvy and are comfortable with preparing raw petfood, off-leash country walks, and the possibility of occasional wintry weather  (although it is mostly sunny 300 days a year) .

Responsibilities  required of the house sitter:  Picking up mail and occasional indoor plant watering, daily dogwalks in open country, feeding the pets two meals a day of (partially prepared) raw food with supplements and letting dog in and out of a fenced yard when needed t litter box needs changing once a week.

The house is on 3.25 acres in the Pojoaque River Valley and is very private, mostly fenced and surrounded by lots of large cottonwoods. It is a huge-but-cozy older adobe with 6 fireplaces, several bedrooms and bathrooms , a very functional chef's kitchen and a comfortable living area with a small flatscreen. There is wi-fi in the office but cell voice service can be poor dependng on your carrier but there is a landline.  No network TV ,just a Roku with Netflix and lots of DVDs at the library a block away. It is about 17 miles North of the North end of the city of Santa Fe ; a 20 minute drive on a good highway. Santa Fe is culturally rich with a wide variety of art and entertainment as well as lots of wonderful restaurants and consumer resources. The surrounding area is a playground for many different types of recreation and there are 3 good ski areas less than 75 minutes drive from the house. There are numerous good walks right out the door or from nearby trailheads. There is a 'wellness center' about a block away with a 25 meter pool, weights/machines, lots of classes, and a small library in the same building. 'Metro' Pojoaque--one mile away-- has a food market, liquor store, hardware , gas stations, fast food and casinos, etc. ( but I shop in Santa Fe or Los Alamos).

Tucker the 14 year old Aussie  and Hugo the 17 year old cat need weekly  brushing and regular daily administration of supplements with each meal to maintain health--some experience with geriatric pets is a prerequisite for my peace of mind and their wellbeing. Suki the Lab is a very immature 9 year old and is high energy but quite trained (often doesn't seem to be... Lots of exercise and consistency help!)                              Also, please note that Northern New Mexico has a real winter. On a very sunny day one might be able to stroll in shirtsleeves , but sometimes could just as easily be hiking in a few inches of snow. The house is located at 6200ft altitude and Santa Fe is at about Breathing or cardiac issues may need consideration. 

Thanks for your interest and please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions.

Lucy Cornwell

text only


Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Dogchef is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners