Dog and cat in the Oakland foothills

House Sitter Needed for Username: tripstoEurope   


Posted or Updated: Mar 22,2023   Applications: 3

Oakland Hills, Oakland
Alameda,California United States

View location map
From: Apr 21,23  
To:      May 25,23
Days:  35, Short Medium Term

Update: our chosen sitter just cancelled, so we're reopening our April 21-May 25 housesit.

We live in a recently remodeled 1750sf home in the Oakland foothills. Great views of the city and SF Bay from our front deck, and even better ones from the deck in our upper back yard. 

A beautiful and relaxing place with two available bedrooms. The main level bedroom has a twin bed, and the other (the downstairs family room) has a double bed and twin bed. The main level also has a kitchen, living room bathroom, and office.  The neighborhood is a friendly  and walkable place, with streets ranging from urban to seemingly in the mountains, all within a few blocks. 

The home has high speed fiber wifi, Apple TV with TV, Netflix, and Amazon Prime videos.

Easy freeway access for going downtown, across the Bay to San Francisco, or up and down the northern California coast.

With two animals, we would much prefer a sitter who works from home, or is at home most of the time. We'd also like someone who has experience both with housesitting and animals.

Our dog, Sasha, joined us a not long ago. She gets fed mornings and evenings (and gets treats throughout the day). 

She enjoys going for walks, but doesn't require a lot of exercise. She also loves to go on car rides in her portable bed, and to stores, cafes, restaurants, etc. carried in her sling bag (she weighs about 6 pounds). 

She is not used to being left alone; we're looking for someone who won't be away (or won't be able to take Sasha along) for more than 3 hours at a time. Our daughter lives in Oakland; she can take Sasha on Mondays and Thursdays-Sundays if a longer time away is unavoidable.

Gaudi the cat is getting older, he divides his time between the indoors and outdoors; he gets fed in the morning and several times in the evening. They both have water available continuously, of course. 

There is also a pet door to go in and out to the yard. Both Gaudi and Sasha use this door to go in and out.

Other than feeding, responsibilities include a flea/tick med for Gaudi at the beginning of May (Sasha is on a 3-month fles/tick schedule, and won't need any during our trip), and checking for and cleaning up dog poops outside. Also, Sasha is trained to poop and pee outside, but sheis still learning and sometimes has accidents inside. We have stain/odor spray to use on these.
Most of our plants are cacti and succulents that don't need much watering - a little every week or so - but we do have some potted plants on the patio and a young fruit tree and some flowers in the back yard that get watered about two or three times a week, depending on the plant.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

tripstoEurope is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners