Garden tender and cat sitter needed for eclectic home in Austin, Texas

House Sitter Needed for Username: LemonPie   


Posted or Updated: Mar 19,2024   Reviews (1)   Applications: 2

Franklin Park, Southeast Austin, Austin
Travis,Texas United States

View location map
From: Jun 14,24  
To:      Jun 29,24
Days:  16, Short Term

We're looking for a housesitter who primarily loves gardens and also enjoys cats.  Our three cats, Yuca, Malloe, and Fig, mostly take care of themselves, as they are inside/outside and have their own cat door.  All that's really needed is to give them food and water, and of course lots of scritches and smooches.

The most work needed is watering the gardens and all the baby trees we've planted.  Watering the trees entails moving the water hose to a new tree every 20 or 30 minutes.  You can go do something else between moving the hose, but to get all the trees watered you do have to be at the house for about 5 hours straight on one day at the midpoint of your stay.  We also have several gardens that will need to be hand watered with the spray hose every four or five days, which might take an hour or so at a time.  One bonus is that whatever fruits and veggies are ready in the garden are yours to eat!

Our home is a modest one story, three bedroom, with one bedroom devoted to my sewing work space, as I make my living as a seamstress.  The main bedroom has a queen bed and my daughter's bedroom has a twin bed.  We are very artsy and have an entire wall of craft supplies in the living room, along with lots of intriguing found natural artifacts displayed on shelves and dresser tops.  Our house is not luxury by any means, but it is clean and colorful and joyful and peaceful.

If you are looking to come to Austin then you already know about all the amazing stuff to do here.  Downtown is 6 miles away, a 15 minute drive, and Barton Springs is 8 miles away, a 20 minute drive.  The city bus direct to downtown picks up two blocks from our house. I've lived here in Austin for 23 years now, so I can give you all the insider tips and advice you'd like!  Thank you!  

House Sitter Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ Laura's house was very comfortable and the instructions were so complete. ”

Sit Dates Jun-19-23 - Jul-2-23 Sitter Here4you62, Member Since Sep-24-22

This was our first housesitting experience, and Laura made it easy to enjoy it! Her house was very comfortable, and she left detailed instructions that helped so much. The instructions covered everything from the washer/dryer to cat and garden care to food truck recommendations. She also made two short videos to show tree and garden care. It was nice to have specific information.

The watering was the biggest task of the house sitting, but the trees were only watered one day a week, so just once in our two week stay. We felt very much at home, and enjoyed having the cats to keep us company. 

We appreciated the trust she had in us, in allowing us to take care of her home, and treat it as our own. 

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

LemonPie is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners