Would you like to house/pet sit in Victoria, BC (Fernwood)?

House Sitter Needed for Username: Waldi1943   

Verified Save

Posted or Updated: Jan 2,2024   Applications: 3

Fernwood, Cook Street, Victoria
Victoria,British Columbia Canada

View location map
From: Mar 4,24  
To:      Mar 25,24
Days:  21, Short Medium Term limited flexibility around dates

A 2-storey house awaits you -- furnished simply and comfortably, with much framed art. No smoking please. Upstairs bedroom has king-size bed and ensuite bathroom with oldstyle tub. Washer/dryer. Second bathroom/toilet downstairs. There's no TV but a landline. Reliable WiFi by Shaw/Rogers. The apartment-size kitchen with new-ish appliances, decent knives, and many gadgets. Also downstairs: the living room has lots of natural light, a gas fire place plus basebord heaters. Next to it separate dining/office space.

Sunny front and secluded backyard (no yardwork needed, yet). The resident pair of humming birds needs regular sugar water in feeder or they'll get buzz to remind you.

Amenities within a block's radius: wine/beer store, patisserie, bike repair, hardware store, compounding pharmacy, massage therapist. Food: patisserie, daily-fresh bagels. Eateries: vegan, Vietnamese, Thai, BBY; bespoke icecream maker, 2 food trucks, and my favourite cafe/rostery open 7 days/week. Also a Ukrainian Catholic church, small park, and a second-hand charity shop. Even more choices 3-4 blocks away. Bus connections and dedicated bike lanes nearby.

The dogs are small, well-behaved, and adorable (of course): he a Dachshund (retired therapy pet) who sleeps a lot and she a happy chihuahua that would prefer to sit and snuggle in your lap or on top of you. Both are rescues from Mexico. A touring bike at your service. Emergency contacts for vet and maintenance issues are in place. If you wish, our trusty cleaner will come for 3 hours every other week (no charge to you). 

As a monastery-trained Zen lay monk and former hospice worker I guide weekly meditation groups online. I'll be away for a 3-week mostly-silent retreat in Oregon; contact by emergency only.

MORE PHOTOS to come.   

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Waldi1943 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners