Watch Our 10 Month Old Puppy in Beautiful SW Virginia Mountains for 2 Weeks in the Fall

House Sitter Needed for Username: PippinsMom   


Posted or Updated: Jun 5,2023   Applications: 1

Mountains (rural), Meadows of Dan
Meadows of Dan,Virginia United States

View location map
From: Oct 21,23  
To:      Nov 4,23
Days:  15, Short Term plus nites before & after


My husband and I are planning a trip and need a house sitter and particularly someone(s) to care for our 10 month old puppy named Pippin.  We live on a mountain top in a beautiful and peaceful wooded location in SW Virginia with a GORGEOUS view.  Fall is an especially nice time in the Blue Ridge mountains, not too hot, and not too cold.  The leaves should still be pretty then.

Pippin is currently (in June) 30 pounds and growing.  He was born on Christmas Day 2022 and came from a rescue group.  His mother is a 47 lb Texas heeler and father, unknown.  He is a good and happy dog and very sociable with people and other dogs.  He is energetic and is still in the chew-on-everything stage.  He has many toys and likes to play fetch, tug-o-war, and hide-n-seek.  He also loves walks and hikes.   He is housebroken, though he needs to go outside every 2-3 hours to do his business.  Good news:  you don't have to pick up his "big business" as he goes in the woods!

Pippin sleeps through the night in his crate (9 pm - sunrise).  So far, he knows these commands: come, sit, stay, shake, down (=lie down), catch.   Our property is wooded and secluded so he is off leash out doors as we are relaxing on the deck, doing outside chores, or ambling in the field across the road; fortunately he's not a roamer.  However, for walks on the road or in public places like one of the local wineries, he needs to be on the leash. 

In addition to caring for Pippin, you'll need to bring in the mail and take out the trash once a week.  I'm sure you'll be enjoying fires in the fireplace, so you'll need to restock the wood bin and pick up sticks in the woods for kindling.  If  you are interested, you can learn to use the log splitter.

If you want to use the pool for swimming (in place against a current) or exercising, you'll need to add chlorine once a week.

You can see all about us, our locale, and our 2019 house on a home exchange site so I'm only posting a few photos here.  Since the link won't copy, please ask me for it if you are interested.  But trust me, it's a comfortable and lovely home with amenities like heated bathroom tile floors, hot water on demand, and an indoor "lap" pool.

Also, we are happy to chat with you by or zoom.

We depart for our trip October 21, 2023 and return on November 4.  You are welcome to spend a night or two before and after so we can have a proper hand-off.  

This is our first time using House Carers, so our fingers are crossed hoping to find a good match.  Please Rsvp soon, as this really will be a plum placement.  Thanks for considering us.



© Housecarers.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

PippinsMom is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners