Sweet 11 yr old Greyhound seeking a companion

House Sitter Needed for Username: GreyhoundMom   

Verified Save

Posted or Updated: Sep 27,2023   Applications: 1

NW Bradenton, Bradenton
Bradenton,Florida United States

View location map
From: Dec 27,23  
To:      Jan 18,24
Days:  23, Short Medium Term my flight is booked

Hello, I'm seeking a pet sitter for our lovely greyhound Dona.  She's 11, gentle, easy to care for, and loves human companionship.

I will be traveling to the UK on a regular basis for 2-4 weeks at a time.  I'm seeking someone who would like to stay in our home, care for Dona, and enjoy the nearby beaches, local museums and parks.

If you've never cared for a greyhound they are not "regular" dogs as a young neighborhood boy surmised a few years ago.  They don't sit, they lie down.  They don't bark, play with toys or enjoy car rides.  Dona doesn't even particularly enjoy walks all that much, but that's partially due to her age.  Essentially she's a couch potato and just loves to nuzzle and cuddle with her people.

Her routine is out first thing in the morning usually for a 2-3 block walk.  Back for breakfast.  Treats during the day. Then dinner somewhere betwen 4-6 pm (the earlier the better) and then another walk for 2-3 blocks before dark.  I never leave her alone for more than 5 hours.  During the night she may ask to go out to relieve herself for a couple of minutes which involves letting her out into the fenced yard and waiting for her to come back.  That's it!  Depending on the time of year there may be some plants indoors and outdoors that would benefit from watering.  Other than that your time is your own.

Dona does struggle with thunder and has a hard time getting settled poor thing.  We've learned that putting one of her beds in the shower and letting her sleep in there seems to help calm her down. 

My home is a ranch style house near the end of a cul-de-sac. I think of it as an earthy sanctuary. It's quiet and we have kind and friendly neighbors. It's fenced all around with a lovely little courtyard and butterfly garden in the center. There are two bedrooms, one has a king sized bed with an en-suite bathroom (it's under renovation so it's not very attractive and it won't be finished until my travels conclude late in 2024).  The guest bedroom has a queen sized bed and a full bath.  There's a beautiful outdoor shower and that's the only place I shower unless it gets too cold.  It feels like a spa.  There's a small grill that you're welcome to use, kayaks if you have a way to transport them, two bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas too.

We do get occasional tropical storms and hurricanes on the Gulf Coast of Florida, please note our home is not in a flood zone.

Our house is only a few miles from Anna Maria Island which has wonderful beaches and restaurants.  Siesta Key is another favorite spot for beaches.  Be sure to go to Cortez a nearby fishing village to enjoy a grouper sandwich. Sarasota is a lovely little city to the south with special events and the beautiful Ringling Museum, and St. Pete and Gulfport are fun communities with lots to offer to the north including a fantastic Salvador Dali Museum.  In Bradenton we have two beautiful parks, Robinson Preserve and Desoto Memorial Park.  They both have lovely trails for walking and cycling.

If you're flying to get here the Sarasota-Bradenton Airport (SRQ) is the closest, about 25 minutes away.  The St. Pete-Clearwater Airport (PIE) is home to many discount airlines and is about 50 minutes away.  Tampa International Aiport (TPA) is about 60 minutes away and has the most flights for airlines.

You will need to have your own car.

At times I will have flexibility with the travel dates so feel free to ask if there's room to adjust the dates a bit.

Non-smokers only (no smoking indoors or outdoors thank you!)

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

GreyhoundMom is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners