CHARMING FARM HOUSE & CAT SIT, from mid Feb to end of April/begin May

House Sitter Needed for Username: Beluga1   

Verified Save

Posted or Updated: Oct 23,2023   Applications: 4

rim of a forest, Brunnadern
St. Gallen Switzerland

View location map
From: Feb 19,24  
To:      May 4,24
Days:  76, Medium Long Term

Hello to the velvet paw and nature loving community!

My dear husband and I are looking for a flexible couple or responsible single person who wants to come and stay at our beautiful farm house at the rim of a forest, and take care of our two tomcats for the time of our absence in India.

I am working for elephant conservation and welfare in India since 2010, and with my own NGO since 2014 at honoris causa (ehrenamtlich). But basically, I am a filmmaker and my husband is a camera man. We have to shoot the 2nd part of a film on elephants in Assam right now, and luckily, we found loving people who do the house sit from 15. Oct onwards to Dec 4. So this one is set. And we have new dates now to be covered.

The new date is from mid/end of Feb to end of April/beginning Mai starting earlier and staying longer should be possible), where I have to go into postproduction, and then to South Africa.

It would be great if you are experienced with cats! And know about their behaviour, their needs, their language. We would love to talk in detail with you about them over or whatsapp.

We assume, to water the few plants in the house and keep the house clean and cosy as it will be handed over to you will not be an issue to talk about much.

In return, you will find a nature loving place, no road access except a dirt road that leads to the house and is best driven with a 4x4 in winters. Things in the winter are easy in the garden and don`t need that much maintenance like in summers. Snow shovelling, clearing the drive way if needed... watching the kitties in the snow and shovelling a walking path for them around the house so they cannot get lost should it snow a lot…, this will help you to stay fit.

The house provides snowshoes and skies, bycicles as well (something must be fixed there). With snowshoes or skies you can directly hike off from the house when snow. And wow, it`s beautiful.

The house is perfect for editing a film, writing books or composing or playing music (no neighbors!)… and reading the long desired literature.

Absolutely non-smoker wanted! No alcoholics, no meat eaters, preferred vegetarian or vegan! Unfortunately, the cats are non-vegetarian/vegan, and we have learned from them to accept some decent exceptions!

This is the house of someone who cares about live and all living beings and the environment. In this respect, we have a eco-friendly lifestyle.

Since the house has no road access except a dirt road that winds over to the house, it is very quiet, tranquille. There's no such things like traffic sounds, exhaust smells or anything polluted or poisonous around here. However, the dirt road is driveable to the house. In winters parking is up the road on a parking spot that belongs to the house (180m walking distance across the stream and uphill).

You need to be able to live in a wild romantic place and consider that you do not have direct neighbors living next to the house. They live in viewing distance, but however, in a distance. You have to be able to be good on foot and physically in a sportive condition and mindset. We heat with wood in the cold months. There are two fire places which need to be heated in winter times regularly, otherwise some pipes might freeze. Wood is cut and you are expected to cut more when needed and fill up the stock again. This will provide you every day`s good exercise. 

We recommend that you have a valid drivers licence, and/or that you can ride a bike, or again, be good on foot, on snowshoes, skies if you like, or can drive our Mitsubishi Outlander.

We have a collection of skies in the house for your outdoor pleasure in the winter, and also a pair of excellent snow shoes. Also, we have two mountain bikes and two racing bikes which you`re welcome to use (sometimes need some fixing). Maintenance of bikes, skies, snowshoes or the vehicle is to be done by yourself.

In case you come by car, 4x4 is mandatory to get here and move around in winters. You must be able to drive a car. To bring your own car would be good for your personal convenience, but you are welcome to use ours as well.

We have our own two water sources that provide the house with mountain-fresh drinking water.

Needless to say, the house is perfectly equipped with hot and cold water, toilets and bathroom with shower, and a nicely equipped kitchen where close to nothing is missing.

Distances: about 50 min to Zuric airport and about 35 min to St. Gallen with larger possibilities for shopping and entertainment. For your daily needs there are two small towns in five minutes driving distance.

Cheers and let`s chat over the /whatsapp. We are looking forward to host you and have you a pleasant stay at our house.

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Beluga1 is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners