We are seeking a cat lover to stay in our BC coastal home for 5-6 weeks.

House Sitter Needed for Username: Travelwise   

Verified Save

Posted or Updated: Mar 23,2024   Applications: 2

North Vancouver Island, Alert Bay
British Columbia Canada

View location map
From: Apr 15,24  
To:      May 31,24
Days:  47, Medium Term 5-6 weeks (exact dates to be determined)

We are seeking a cat lover to stay in our coastal home for 5-6 weeks. (approximately mid April to end of May). Dates are still flexible depending on finding the right house sitter. 

Alert Bay is on Cormorant Island which is located off the northeast coast of Vancouver Island. Alert Bay is the North Island’s oldest community. It is a small community of approximately 1600 people rich coastal heritage and is the traditional home of the ‘Namgis First Nation. It hosts some of the regions finest historical and cultural heritage. Cormorant island sits at the tip of the Broughton archipelago, a group of 168 islands. Whale watching is a local pastime and seeing whales is a common occurrence. The island has a grocery store, post office, bank, pharmacy, hospital, restaurants, and liquor store. The island is accessible by a scenic ferry ride from Port McNeill on Vancouver Island. 

Our home is beautifully crafted, with all the amenities and located just across the street from the ocean. The house is our sanctuary and would especially suit an individual who enjoys a peaceful meditative space and nature. We are Buddhist and our house reflects this as it is our refuge and retreat. It has been lovingly renovated incorporating eastern influences into the design.  It consists of 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a library/office, a wonderful kitchen. It has a lovely garden and is spacious with lots of room to kick back and relax or to work from home. 

We have 2 healthy cats with big personalities that are very dear to us and miss us when we travel. They need lots of love in our absence. This will be your main job. They talk a lot so you will need to speak cat. They love their brushes and will expect you to accommodate them a few times a day. They can go out during the day but are required to be home inside at dark. Our little boy cat will test you to see how long he can stay out. He loves to be outside. He will also expect you to open the door for him around 5 am. Our little girl is much better behaved, prefers inside to outside (in cold weather) and loves to have long conversations with you. We do not have a cat door so your work will be cut out for you being their concierge. You need to get your 10,000 steps in a day, right? Oh, and yes, I hope that you don’t mind sharing your bed. Our cats seem to be most comfortable with females so a woman would be our first preferance.

We are a recently retired couple very dedicated to Buddhism and the meditative life. We hope to find someone that connects with us and our cats and that arrangements can be made to work perhaps in the long run. We love to travel and plan to spend more time away from home. 

Contact Home Owner

Please select the register button below to Join as a House Sitter, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Home owners
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Contact Home Owner

, You must be a Full/Paid member to contact Homeowners. Please select the button below to return to your members area, and activate your Full/Paid Membership. You may then Apply for Unlimited housesits for the next 12 months (Plus a Bonus Month.)


Close this window to continue browsing.

Travelwise is a Verified Supporter of Housecarers.

You have already saved this Housesit

Do you want this Housesit
stored in your Housesit Favorites list?


Save Housesit

Please select the the Register button to Join as a House Sitter, for your own House Sitters Portal, so you Save Your Favourite Housesits like Home owners