Retired couple or individual available for short or extended housesits

Username frenchgirl  

65 + years
Jan 1,2023
retired teacher & librarian
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks

We are a retired couple with experience managing property (our own rental properties as well as other people's) and with housesitting. We completed a 4 year housesit at a chateau in Normandy, France, January 2011, and now own our own house nearby. We are still interested in housesits but for shorter lengths of time, 10 days to 2 months. My husband was a museum director in America; I was a teacher and librarian. We are in our early 70s, both healthy non- smokers, and our idea of a good time is to relax with a book, meaning that we are not partiers and we rarely go out at night except for the occasional dinner. I speak good French; my husband speaks less well, but he can certainly get by on his own. We know how to care for others' properties; we are conscientious and tidy.

We are available for some gardening though we are not very experienced gardeners. However, we have good intentions and follow directions well! We love animals and have owned cats and dogs. I was raised on a ranch and would be comfortable caring for horses and smaller livestock.

Beginning December 2021 we are available for housesits. Our minimum stay period would be 10 days, maximum 2 months.

We have numerous French friends, with many of whom we have lived or from whom we have rented apartments. We left the chateau after nearly four years and we left on very good terms with the owner. He is willing to provide his reference. I housesat a couple of years ago for 10 days in Amsterdam, caring for a dog and looking after the garden. We have also housesat near Toulouse, France, for 10 days (twice); in Umbria, Italy, for 2 weeks; near Cambridge, England for 10 days.  We don't have children, so holidays are not an issue.  We are available as a couple or as individuals. Thank you, Sandi and Mark Lane

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact frenchgirl
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for frenchgirl

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site:
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like frenchgirl to your Favorite House Sitters List