British couple, mature, 19 yrs experience caretaking & nature conservation/research volunteering

Username birdwatchers  

Save
Age
56 - 64 years
Availability
Nov 17,2019
Occupation
Librarian
Gender
Female
Status
Married/Partnered
Term
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

Aug 2019 We are again available for housesitting or caretaking assignments in Canada, USA, Europe or beyond. No payment required - we work for pleasure not profit.

David (73, still active GIS mapping surveyor/tutor) and I (61, natural history librarian/database manager, former travel company owner) have been caretaking, hosting and volunteering (nature conservation, ecotourism, scientific field research projects) in the UK and overseas almost every year since During our travels abroad we have enjoyed caring for a wide range of pets, livestock and wildlife from alpacas to zebras and a variety of properties including family homes, organic farms, smallholdings, B&Bs, ecolodges, mountain huts, wildlife/nature reserves and botanic gardens.

We also enjoy short-term regular housesitting, petsitting and assisting conservation projects in our local patch, around the UK and mainland Europe including  Cambs, Gloucs, Staffs, Yorkshire housesits, caretaking smallholdings to 2017), Switzerland, French Alps (2015), south of France vineyard, B&B caretaking to 2014). 

Long-term assignments have included: 3 mths Iceland (2010, 2012), 3 mths Costa Rica (2008), 6 mths Hawaii, USA & BC, Canada (2007), 9 mths Fiji, New Zealand & Australia (2006), 7 mths Norway (2005), 8 mths Australia (2004), 4 mths Aride Island, Seychelles and various assignments in Botswana/Namibia to 2003) whilst working & living there as expats. Our previous professional careers include IT management in the banking/telecoms industry (David) and business travel/conference management (Christine). We are financially independent, yet continue as lifelong workers - mostly donating our time to non-profit organisations at home and abroad. Leisure interests include walking, cycling, birdwatching, botanising and books. On the practical side, we are non-smokers and do not bring children or pets with us. We are happy to do household and outdoor chores, property maintenance, business hosting in addition to taking good care of pets, livestock and wildlife. We usually pay our own travel and transport costs (we own a car in the UK, hire/buy car while overseas) and bring our own IT/comms equipment. Our own home is in the Peak District National Park, England, which may be available for a house exchange if this is of interest.

Many of our assignments have been arranged via word-of-mouth recommendation but we have arranged 7 housesits so far via housecarers which all worked very well with great owners, pets and properties - references available. Please do not hesitate to request a friendly chat (phone or ) to discuss requirements.

Christine & David Orchard

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact birdwatchers
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for birdwatchers


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select Functions then Upload Photos in the Left Menu
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • If the photo is not uploading it's file size may be too big for your internet connection. See Photo FAQ: How to reduce the file size
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like birdwatchers to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR