Mature Canadian couple, thirteen+ years experience as full-time housesitters -- longer-term sits sought

Username Archonate  

65 + years
Not Available
6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

Archonate is currently not available. Find more House Sitters    

  Not Available  

We are Matt and Paula Hughes, Canadians and British Columbians in our early seventies; we are both in good health and of cheerful disposition.

We have both had our second Pfizer Covid vaccine shots.

We have been full-time house- and pet-sitters since 2007.  After having travelled the world and lived in twelve different countries, we are now seeking sits in our home province of BC but expect to look for European sits again in 2022.

I am an award-winning author of sf and suspense fiction, with twenty-three novels in print or in the publishing pipeline, from publishers large and small in Canada, the US, Britain, France and Italy. I also edit books for publishers and occasionally work as a ghostwriter. Before turning to fiction, and while I was raising three sons, I worked as a freelance consultant speechwriter for Canadian political leaders and senior corporate executives. I have also written screenplays for independent producers and even radio comedy for the CBC. Now that our sons are grown, I am less interested in making money than in being able to write what I like while seeing some more of the world.  Having lived in France and Italy, I can speak rudimentary French and Italian.

Paula was a full-time mother and homemaker until our boys were all in school. She then trained as a carer and community support worker, supporting adults with learning and physical disabilities, and did that work for fifteen years.

We are nonsmokers, moderate drinkers. Paula is an able gardener; I handle the spade work. I am no great handyman but I can unblock a sink or change a fuse. We both drive and have no demerit points on our Canadian drivers licences.

We are good with animals. Between us, we have looked after dogs (including huge breeds like Irish wolfhound and Tibetan mastiff), cats, horses, dairy cattle, pigs, chickens, and the usual assortment of rabbits, guinea pigs, and hamsters that feature in raising children. We have no animal phobias and would be comfortable looking after tarantulas.

You can see our RCMP criminal records check and excellent references on our web page.  The URL is at the top right of this listing.

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact House Sitters
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for Archonate

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site:
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like House Sitters to your Favorite House Sitters List