Rambling Retirees - adventure B4 D-MenSha

Username TheRamblingRetirees  

65 + years
Not Available
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks

TheRamblingRetirees is currently not available. Find more House Sitters    

  Not Available  

We are a 'young' retired couple in our early-seventies. Steve retired from Defence after 35 years service, and Diana is a retired Executive Assistant.

We are fully Covid vaccinated and boostered (April 2022).

We are keen photographers and love the bush. We love to travel and explore all areas of Australia throughout the year now that we no longer have children or pets at home.

We were active volunteers at the local information centre for five years, assisting other interesting travellers with local, State, and Interstate information. We also undertake volunteer caretaking duties at a Queensland National Park for five or six weeks every year. We were involved with both volunteer programs between 2009 and 2022.

Our six children have grown and flown the coup and it is now "our time" to enjoy life to the full.

We have lived on, and maintained our acre of land since 2000. Steve is an "ex" farm boy and very capable of completing handyman jobs around the home and garden. Our own 4-bedroom home has an inground saltwater pool, so pool maintenance is no problem. We are pet-friendly and have enjoyed the company of both small and large dogs as well as cats, chooks, and ducks on previous house sits.

In addition to our annual care-taking at the National Park, our previous housesits include

Kuranda, Qld - aviaries, cockatoo, inground pool, rainforest property - 6 weeks

Mackay, Qld -  aviaries, dog, 1\2 acre - 2 weeks

Tanawha, Qld -  King Charles Spaniel, inground pool, 2 acres - 3 weeks

Mareeba, Qld -5 acres -   weeks

Moresby, Qld - 11 acres - 2017. Cat, fish, inground pool. - 4 weeks

Blacks Beach, Mackay, Qld - 2016. German Shepherd - 2 weeks

Peregian Springs, Qld - 2016, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023. Inground pool, plants -

Albany, WA - 7 acres - 2015.  Jack Russell X, moggie, chooks, ducks .. 2 weeks

Gordon, Tasmania - 5 acres - 2013 & 2014.  Jack Russell & 200 roses, fruit trees, veg garden - 6 weeks 5 weeks

Eumundi, Qld -3 acres - 2014. Poodle, inground pool -- 4 weeks

Gold coast - suburban block, 5 days 2009.

Referees can be provided on request.

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ We are very grateful to Diana and Steve for looking after all of our birds for us while we were on holiday ”

Sit Dates Nov-1-22 - Dec-5-22 Homeowner Suzzan996, Member Since Aug-14-14

Location Kuranda/Cairns QLD Australia

The birds appeared to be very happy and well fed when we arrived home.  We were delayed by a day and Diana and Steve kindly stayed a day longer even though it put them out to get home to a Doctor's appointment.

The house inside was clean and the house front immaculately tidy, but the wild bird droppings needed to be better controlled as they can damage varnish surfaces.

Diana was not well and the house sit for a month was possibly too much, but it was difficult to organise another lot of house sitters while overseas.  We are glad that they persevered with Fritz, our Cockatoo, who takes a little while to adapt to our being on holiday.

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact House Sitters
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for TheRamblingRetirees

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like House Sitters to your Favorite House Sitters List