Responsible, Neat, Non-Smoking, Location-Independent Single Female with Excellent References

Username Vivian  

46 - 55 years
Sep 1,2019
Semi-retired Attorney/Consultant
Single female
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

About Me:

I am a reliable, non-smoking “sort of retired” NYC attorney/consultant who has been traveling full-time since June 2016.  Since then, I’ve lived in 35 different hotels, homes, or apartments in 22 cities throughout eight countries.  I prefer to live like a local wherever I am and housesitting provides perfect opportunities for me while allowing homeowners to take a holiday or visit another part of the world knowing that everything is secure and well-cared for at home.

I am clean, organized, responsible, and very respectful of people’s belongings. Because I have always been a renter, I am well-aware of what it takes to care for someone else’s property as if it were my own. I consistently receive feedback from landlords on the excellent condition the apartments are in when I move out.  One of my recent landlords told me that the vacated apartment was in better condition than when I moved in, which she thought was impossible since the apartment was brand new and I was the first tenant!

Although I am no longer working full-time, I still do some work online and am beginning to develop a professional organizing business focused on expats who need help unpacking, setting up, and organizing their new homes overseas.  I have a valid driver’s license (including an international driving permit) and a clean driving record, although I have not owned a car since 2000.  I am very comfortable with public transportation, walking, or cycling and one of my favorite things to do is wander around on foot.  I also enjoy baking (I’ve missed having an oven in SE Asia), reading, and keeping active (swimming, yoga, walking).

Because I work online and am location-independent, I can be flexible to your needs and any routines that need to be followed while you are away.  My flexibility also means that I can usually arrive and depart at any time that fits into your plans. 

I can offer you a calm, caring, trustworthy, and friendly house-sitter who will treat your home and belongings with respect.  I’m available for mid-to long-term house-sitting assignments and can provide you with excellent references.  

Why I Want to House Sit:

Housesitting allows me to travel slowly and experience a place.  Mid- and long-term sits allow me to spend time actually living somewhere, getting to know and feel what it's like to settle there, learning the history and the people and the quirks of life there, and hopefully becoming part of the community.  I get to experience what it’s like to feel at home in a town I’ve never been to and having the opportunity to be at “home” in another country is fascinating and exciting and precious.  My plan when I left the US in 2016 was to find some sweet little town somewhere, buy a home, and settle.  I haven’t yet found that home. Housesitting allows me to visit places I might not have considered, try them on for awhile, and see if that particular part of the world fits me. 

My Experience:

Previous experience includes: two week-long housesits for homeowners traveling on business, a week-long house and cat-sit for a homeowner visiting family in another state, a two week and subsequent one week “plant-sit” for a homeowner traveling abroad (this homeowner had outdoor plants that required attention during a particularly hot spell in a tropical climate—I was very nervous about this one, but miraculously the plants not only stayed alive, but they were actually blooming when the homeowner returned!), a 17 day house and cat-sit for a couple traveling abroad on holiday, an 18 day house and cat-sit for a homeowner traveling abroad for Christmas, a three week house and cat-sit for homeowners visiting friends and family over the holidays, and a three month housesit for a university professor traveling with his family for the summer.

I’m not afraid of change, and as an attorney/consultant, I am used to recognizing problems, identifying solutions, making decisions, and generally handling anything that comes up.  I am no stranger to cold winters or tropical climates.  I once spent half a day shoveling massive amounts of snow in Indiana in order to clear the road for emergency vehicles and I’ve lived through a particularly nasty rainy season in Vietnam that included working with my Vietnamese neighbors to clear the laneway of about six inches of mud and sewage that was left over after the flooding cleared.  I much prefer snow to sewage.      

I can look after your garden or simply water your houseplants.  If your lawn needs mowing, I can do it.  I have a basic understanding of pool maintenance and know how to follow instructions with respect to keeping your pool clean, healthy, and ready for your return.  If you have hired someone to care for your lawn or pool, I can organize or direct their work if needed.  

You can be certain that any newspapers, magazines, or mail will be collected (and forwarded to you if you prefer).

I am happy to provide regular s or photos of your home and pets while you’re away. 

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Vivian
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for Vivian

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select Functions then Upload Photos in the Left Menu
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site:
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • If the photo is not uploading it's file size may be too big for your internet connection. See Photo FAQ: How to reduce the file size
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like Vivian to your Favorite House Sitters List