John and Denise. 'We treat your pets and home as if they were our own'

Username John_and_Denise  

Save
Age
65 + years
Availability
Nov 14,2018 My Calendar
Occupation
Retired
Gender
Male
Status
Married/Partnered
Term
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months
References (3) Police check Phone

Thank you for taking the time to look at our profile. 

We have not completed a sit through Housecarers yet but references can be found for us via the link to our web site at the top of the page

We are from New Zealand and have spent the last couple of years pet sitting whilst travelling north through South and Central America from Buenos Aires to Mexico. 
We have been pet sitting in Europe since August 2017 when we bought a car to be independent of public transport and be able to sit in 'out of the way places'.

Our current pet sitting assignment is in Goudargues, France till the end of February. 
Following this we have 'back to back' pet sit commitments in:
La Magdelaine, France until 6th April.
Chalais Charante, France until 20th April.
St Leon Sur Vezere, France until the 9th May. 
Moncoutant, France until the 3rd of June.
Then we cross the channel for a time to pet sit in,
Staines, England until the 16th June.
Chester, England 18th of June to the 21st July.

After which we currently have no commitments before we return to Germany around the 10th August to spend a few days with our daughters and a newly (as yet un) born grandchild before returning to New Zealand on the 18th August when we will be pet sitting in Thames until the 4th October after which we will be looking for pet sits in either Spain, Italy or Greece until our next commitment in January 2019 in Saint Romain, France.

John is a retired engineer and internet consultant and Denise is a retired schoolteacher.
We are both in a second relationship having parented 4 children each previous to our current relationship, these 8 children (and an ever increasing number of grandchildren) are now located around the globe. We both love pets and when our children were growing up we had cats, dogs, chickens, tropical fish, rabbits and guinea pigs. 

For the last couple of decades, pre-retirement, we spent several weeks every year traveling and we decided long ago before discovering the site it would be best not to have any new pets of our own so pet sitting and interacting with other people's pets has been great.

We sold our home in Auckland, New Zealand in 2016 with the intent to travel the world independently for a few years keeping an eye open for somewhere to retire to at a later date but are currently enjoying our transient lives.

Why we want to house sit
We are recently retired, financially independent and both have the travel bug.

It is our goal to spend the next couple of years travelling around the globe and we are making pet and house sitting a part of our lives, not to save money (we are financially independent) but to get a taste of how people live in different countries and pet sitting has enabled us to do this. Spending time in new environments has been enlivening and looking after other people's pets has been like icing on the cake. We have also made new lifelong friends.

We started pet and house sitting in NZ in 2015 and spent Christmas New Year 2016 pet sitting in Portugal prior to heading off to South America mid 2016.
We have had several assignments (plus one repeat pet sit in NZ) through but 4 of our recent pet sits have been arranged through personal recommendations rather than through and every sit has been a great experience. 

We have travelled to South and Central America several times previously and on this trip we headed north from Buenos Aires, through Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Aruba, Panama, Nicaragua, Guatemala and Mexico from where we flew to Europe and bought a car which enables to pet sit 'off the beaten track'

Our experience
We are resourceful and capable of handling almost any issue that may arise with pets and properties. 

As well as being responsible pet owners and lovers we have practical experience having owned and looked after our own homes and investment rental properties for many years.
When John's children were growing up he bred Rhodesian Ridgebacks and we have both attended dog obedience training classes with our own dogs in New Zealand.

John trained as a mechanical engineer in the U.K. in the late 1960s and enjoys DIY and building projects around the home. 
Denise trained as a teacher and she enjoys informing John when and how things need to be done. ;-))

Please follow the link to our web site at the top of our profile for up to date information: 

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact John_and_Denise
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for John_and_Denise


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select Functions then Upload Photos in the Left Menu
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • If the photo is not uploading it's file size may be too big for your internet connection. See Photo FAQ: How to reduce the file size
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like John_and_Denise to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR