Hello Homeowners seeking the Above and Beyond

Username Above_and_Beyond  

Save
Age
65 + years
Availability
Aug 5,2021 My Calendar
Occupation
Retired
Gender
Female
Status
Married/Partnered
Term
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

We are a married couple, both sixty none years young. .Enjoying retirement, but  far from tired. We anticipate and look forward to ongoing experiences and exploration of the exciting world around us. Location is not a major issue.

We left the Yukon in 2015 and are travelling lightly without a long-term home base, but do own a home in Powell River, taken care of by daughter. We spent the winter of 2015 in a rental in Nelson, B.C., then headed to Blackwater area of Cariboo to do a 5 month winter farm sit....off grid but with solar system which we managed fine. We also regularly checked and fed 3 cows and 13 horses ranging in pastures near to the farmhouse. While there we connected with a number of other families living the remote lifestyle and enjoyed helping each other out, attending community gatherings and pot lucks.

May of 2017, we headed to Ontario, tent camping along the way, where we did 2 one month house sits for same family. We enjoyed exploring other areas of that province between the sits.

We returned to B. C. in September 2017 and did 7 house sits on Vancouver Island , lasting 10 days to 3 months. Mid May 2018 we headed for Austin Texas to do a 2 month house sit & care of 4 dogs. This was nearby to 2 daughters & our grandkids, so a great chance for family gatherings. We took our time travelling thru 5 states on our way to Texas, then 5 different states on our return to B.C. to do fall/winter housesits on Vancouver Island. Since then we drive across Canada to do a farm sit in Nova Scotia, then back to B.C. & winter care of  3 horses.

This has been a wonderful time in both travel & making wonderful friendships with folks as well as their fur families.

Our minimal possessions include our 4X4 pick-up, an ATV, a canoe, camping gear, and basic household items. We often leave majority of these possessions stored in Powell River, but if anticipating longer stays in remote areas, we do like to haul our toys with us.

We have the greatest respect for other people's property, and cleanliness of our environment is essential to our peace of mind. Currently we have no pets of our own but have loved and cared for others' dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, chickens, etc.

Our daughters are all established in their own lives, so we have no dependent children. Lorraine's daughter and her family are currently residing in and caring for the family home.

Lorraine is originally from the Sunshine Coast where she grew up in a farming community, operated powerboats, and served as a member of Search and Rescue for many years. She is retired from thirty  years nursing at Powell River Hospital, then did travel nursing in B.C., Alberta, and Yukon, often driving long distances into remote communities.

James was born in Toronto and moved across Canada following career advancement opportunities, working twenty five plus years in sales, marketing, and management. He also has experience running a very successful home based business. Four years exposure to wilderness living including setting up and maintaining exploration camps in Yukon and NWT, followed by four years as a wilderness guide based in Dawson City has enabled him to hone his knowledge and confidence in a non-reliant setting. These experiences have instilled common sense when it comes to problem solving.

Experience and common sense have enabled us to deal with adversity as a couple, being equally supportive of one another. We both cherish the quiet peacefulness of self-sufficiency and off the grid living, yet we are also comfortable in the urban settings and have both done significant travel throughout the USA and Caribbean.

Please consider us as your best and safest option. We both look forward to hearing from you so that we can discuss your needs and how we can fulfill them.

James and Lorraine

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Above_and_Beyond
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for Above_and_Beyond


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select Functions then Upload Photos in the Left Menu
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • If the photo is not uploading it's file size may be too big for your internet connection. See Photo FAQ: How to reduce the file size
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like Above_and_Beyond to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR