Experienced, mature, adventurous freelance photojournalist and full-time house sitter

Username Soekie  

Save
Age
65 + years
Availability
Dec 18,2018 My Calendar
Occupation
photojournalist
Gender
Female
Status
Single female
Term
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months
References (1) Phone Verified (1)

I am a single, mature, well-traveled photojournalist/editor open to adventure and exploration in different parts of the world, and who has chosen to house and pet sit full time.

As a freelance photojournalist and editor, I spend a lot of time at home, working online. When not working, I love spending time with the animals (a house without an animal is not a home, in my opinion), cooking and working outside in the garden.

While out in the community, whether walking the dogs or sightseeing, I always have my cameras with me, to add to my stock photo portfolio. The pets at my house sits always end up on my blog, with your permission, of course!

I have traveled extensively and this past 18 months has taken me up and down the west coast of the United States and up to remote islands of British Columbia; to South Africa, Mexico, Tahiti, Australia and New Zealand.

Although I have very "itchy feet," I love having a base to venture out from, and house sitting gives me the ability, while providing peace of mind to the homeowner, who can feel confident that the pets and property will be taken care of as if they were my own.

Almost two years ago, I sold my home in the Pacific Northwest in the United States and since then, have been on the road visiting family around the world. Now homeless by choice, I have the opportunity to visit places I want experience. House sitting, which I have done periodically over the years, gives me the opportunity to live like a local, learn about an area and its people, without feeling the pressure that travel and schedules produce.

My goal is to live in a never-ending summer. I endured too many Pacific Northwest winters, so now I follow the sun.

As a homeowner and landlord for many years, I am used to taking care of properties and have experienced many of the problems that can arise. And I am a capable and practical person who is comfortable handling issues as needed.

I am also an Super Host and am happy to work with you to keep your business running while you are away.

I've had pets, both cats and dogs, and feel that a home without an animal is not really a home. I understand how important the animals are in people's lives.

My availability starts in October 2018.

And as I work online, I do need high-speed internet.

All my references are uploaded as a single document as I am new to housecarers. They include personal references and house sitting endorsements.

My information is on file with the FBI as I am a United States naturalized citizen, and a criminal background check is required at that time. Please note I also have a very recent Global Entry clearance which included an extensive background check, so will not be applying for a criminal background check as this would be redundant.

P.S. I know that you get inundated with applications that can be overwhelming, but as a favor, please let me and the other applicants know when you have chosen a sitter. Many of us do this full-time, so we tentatively block out time for the the sit we apply for, which can limit our options. It's helpful to know when a sit is no longer available. Thank you.

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Soekie
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for Soekie


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select Functions then Upload Photos in the Left Menu
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • If the photo is not uploading it's file size may be too big for your internet connection. See Photo FAQ: How to reduce the file size
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like Soekie to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR