UK & Ireland Spring 2020--Responsible, mature remote worker with decades of animal care & garden experience

Username gardengnome22  

Save
Age
46 - 55 years
Availability
Nov 23,2019 My Calendar
Occupation
Nonprofit Technology Consultant
Gender
Female
Status
Married/Partnered female housesitting alone
Term
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks
References (3) Phone Verified (1)

Hi! I'm an animal lover and experienced housesitter, employed full-time helping nonprofits with technology projects. I'm lucky that my job allows me to work from anywhere, as long as there is decent internet, and that my family can live without me for a bit. I will be in the UK and Ireland from 15 March - 15 June 2020, for work and travel. (In the meantime, I'd be open to gigs in the Western US.)

I have cared for animals for decades-- I've been "mom" to multiple cats (hi, crazy cat lady), chickens (ok, crazy chicken lady, too), dogs, many small mammals and fish (I love rats), and even a crayfish. I have also housesat multiple times for six retired assistance dogs at once, myriad cats, and snakes, birds, and fish, ever since I was a kid. I have also volunteered at a farm around horses, llamas, alpacas, and goats. I'm not very experienced with riding horses, but I can move around them without getting kicked and have cleaned auto-waterers and mucked out stalls. I currently live with two cats--Beaker & Popcorn-- and crazy chickens, who will be in the good care of my partner of 20 years while I travel.

I am also a homeowner myself with a large vegetable garden and yard. I know my way around a screwdriver or toilet tank enough to stem small emergencies and when to call for help. I will be able to weed & water without killing things if needed, too.

I love to experience new places for long visits, because I like to know more about people, places, ecosystems, and culture than I can get with typical tourism. I'm an avid frontcountry day hiker and nature-rambler, and I enjoy quiet time for my hobbies (knitting, reading). I'd happily walk dog(s) for *hours* as walking is my favorite pasttime.

I look forward to helping you get out of town by taking care of the critters and place you care about as if it were my own.

My company & bio: percolatorconsulting /who-we-are/barbara-christensen/

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact gardengnome22
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for gardengnome22


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select Functions then Upload Photos in the Left Menu
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • If the photo is not uploading it's file size may be too big for your internet connection. See Photo FAQ: How to reduce the file size
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like gardengnome22 to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR