15+ years experience; reliable, competent and kind.

Username Coletter11  

56 - 64 years
Not Available
Retired university lecturer
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

Coletter11 is currently not available. Find more House Sitters    

  Not Available  

I am a young semi-retiree.  I am fit and active and I love animals.  I am lucky enough to have a job that allows me to work from 'home', enabling me to make my home wherever the fancy takes me.  I housesit so that I can have furry contact while I travel - without it, I am sure I would get lonely.

I have been housesitting for more than 15 years and I have experienced some wonderful sits, all over the world.  I have experience with every domestic animal except the llama, and the more exotic pets like snakes, lizards and birds.  I love any type of animal and I have gotten along with them all.  

When I am at home (which isn't often!) I like to foster rescue dogs. These animals are invariably fragile and they have made me aware of the need to work with each animal’s needs and temperament.  From the moment I am introduced, I give animals the opportunity and space to ‘adopt’ me as their surrogate carer but I let them take their time.  This approach hasn't failed me yet, even with my more 'cautious' furry clients.

In addition, I have been a wildlife rescuer my entire life so I am comfortable with caring for a wide range of animals who need medical attention or those who are emotionally vulnerable. The first couple of decades were devoted to North American mammals, the last couple to Australian wildlife of all kinds including marsupials, birds and reptiles.  We even had a wild kitten rescue recently!

I will treat your animals like they are my own and I will use your own commands and signals. Not only does it support the investment you have made in training but I believe it is reassuring for the animal. 

I do not smoke, I am tidy and I 'live lightly' in a house. I can do organic, vegan or vegetarian lifestyles if that suits your environment. I eat a veggie-based diet but my partner, Jon, is more of a carnivore. He does not always join me on my adventures and, if he does, it is with the prior approval of my host.  He is lovely and gentle and seems to be a natural animal whisperer (I am very jealous).

I work from 'home' as a researcher so I will spend a good deal of time with your pets.  I like having animals around when I work and I interact with them frequently.

I am also a keen hiker and I particularly like having company on my daily jaunt, although it is also ok if your dog cannot join me.   If that is the case, it will be "One walk for him/her, one for me!"  I've even had a cat that joined me on my walk from time to time.

I had a country upbringing and I have experience with living and driving in snow and very remote locations.  I am particularly keen on remote mountain sits.

I am also happy with urban or village sits, as it gives me an opportunity to become acquainted with the community.  Our family home is located in a tight-knit village environment and I extend that sense of community to my mobile lifestyle. 

I am currently organising a summer adventure in Europe so I can visit my 94 yo mom.  Jon, my partner, will join me for part of this adventure.   

In Europe we do not have a private car.  If public transport is available at your sit, we are happy with that as a sustainable and very pleasant option. However, both Jon and I have a clean driving record and extensive experience as country and town drivers.   We always appreciate it when a host can make a car available for our use, particularly as it increases options for mobilising pets for adventures or treatment (heaven forbid it is required but best to be prepared!)  Otherwise, we will rent a car, if a car is required.

I have many references available and we are both happy to get a police clearance, if you require it.

Feel free to contact me to arrange a chat.  I can call you free of charge or we can use Messenger, or any platform you prefer. As my sits are wide-flung nationally and internationally, most of my assignments are arranged by video chat and my clients are always comfortable by the time they make their decisions.

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ A really lovely, friendly couple. 10/10 ”

Sit Dates May-25-22 - Jun-27-22 Homeowner Henryb65, Member Since Jun-4-14

Location Uzer Occitanie France

One of the best couples we've had as house sitters. Kept us up to date on everything. But above all a really lovely, friendly couple and very responsible too. Zoe our Golden Retriever fell in love with Collette as did our cat Titty. The love was reciprocated.

Will have them back any time, even if we aren't going away!!

Henry and Anne-Marie

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact House Sitters
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for Coletter11

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like House Sitters to your Favorite House Sitters List