Full-Time, responsible house and petsitters

Username FTSitterssince2020  

37 - 45 years
Nov 30,2023
Sustainable Tourism operator (remote)
3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

We are a Dutch couple, we've lived (and met!) in Peru where we (still) run a sustainable tourism company (RESPONSible Travel Peru) and after that we've lived six years in Barcelona. Since 2020 we've quit our rent and started living a nomadic life on our motorcycle... Yes that's right: two persons, one motorcycle with "all our belongings"!!! The freedom is great. Guido is a good car driver, too, in case you want an "airport transfer" in your own car :-)

By the end of 2020, we'll probably make our way back to South America for several months (or longer?), that's why now we are seeking housesits in Ecuador and Costa Rica (mainly, open to other countries!)

Before 2020, we'd been housesitting for a few years but only sporadically for friends (dogs and cats, periods ranging from three weeks to several months). Since 2020, it became a full-time lifestyle and we absolutely LOVE it!

We both work, but currently not full-time. We need good wifi to run our company in Peru. We have flexible hours, so if there are any tasks that need to be performed throughout the day that is generally possible.

We can do some gardening (regular upkeeping of (vegetable) garden) but mostly love taking care of animals. Guido grew up with dogs (and has owned one too) and Agnes with domestic animals of all kinds. We are very active so we prefer to take care of active animals, too. Some farm animals are OK but not too much since we are not full-time available. We're confident with big dogs, shy cats, basic medical care of animals and other "irregularities" pet sitters will always encounter.

We don't smoke and a house where smoking is admitted inside might be a no-go. We try to lead a healthy lifestyle. Guido is "90% vegetarian" and Agnes is "90% vegan".

We are both fluent in English, Spanish and Dutch. Guido also speaks well Portuguese, French, German and Italian; Agnes understands these languages well and speaks at a more basic level. We both love learning new languages (currently into Italian) and enjoy communicating with anyone. In most housesits we ended up being friends with your neighbours haha ;-)

We love nature and prefer more rural settings, but we're not shy of city life every once a while.

Why we want to house sit

We enjoy new experiences; every house, every animal and every new surrounding teaches us new things, it nurtures our mind. We love adapting to new situations and enjoy having to be flexible. Since we travel a lot we can't have an animal of our own and by pet sitting we still get to enjoy regular animal company. We are flattered by the trust animals put in us after they get used to us. We also enjoy keeping their owners in the loop and showing happy pictures of their pet so that they can enjoy their travels or focus on what they're away for.

Along the way, we are learning that housesits with active dogs in nice outdoor settings have our preference, but still we enjoy the diversity of caring for cats, other animals and other settings as well. Agnes is not too fond of cold climates; and since we depend on the motorcycle (also to do our shopping) we are definitely following the sun rather than the rain.

Our experience

Before becoming full-time housesitters (in 2020), we've taken care of dogs and cats of friends and relatives; sometimes animals we knew well, sometimes not that well. Fours cats with individual food and medicine necessities eating four times a day, young pups and kittens, old dogs with special needs (and messy habits); we're up to the challenge. We enjoy good instructions and close contact with the owners but can be very independent if needed.

We've recently had more houses with gardening tasks including general weeding/maintenance tasks, vegetable gardens, grassfields, fruit trees and grapes. Cutting wood for fireplaces, small maintenance tasks (also related to basic plumming, swimming pools, irrigation systems or sceptic tanks) can be done. We've already lived ten months in houses with chicken. Even wildlife management: keeping deer out of gardens (or telling them to leave if they do get in) for example! So many experiences.

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact FTSitterssince2020
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for FTSitterssince2020

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like FTSitterssince2020 to your Favorite House Sitters List