Active, retired couple, keen gardeners used to rural living wanting to experience living in different countries.

Username wewillbethere  

Save
Age
65 + years
Availability
May 27,2024 My Calendar
Occupation
Educational Psychologist (retired)
Gender
Female
Term
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

We are an active and fit retired couple who live in North Yorkshire, UK. We spent our working life in education, I was an Educational Psychologist and Andrew was a Behaviour Support Teacher.  We are keen gardeners who have experience of living in a remote, rural home as well as a village & town. We enjoy spending time in different countries and prefer to have some purposeful activity rather than just be on holiday. We are happy to look after your property, garden, pets and animals. We are interested in assignments anywhere, rural or urban and can be available for up to three months,possibly longer.

We are careful people who take pride in our home and garden. You can be assured that your property and pets will be in safe hands.

During the last 11 years we have successfully done 20 house sits.We started with a week looking after a friend's house, ducks and hens.  Then we had 3 months in the Dordogne where we looked after some chambres d' hote and gites. In 2014 we did a 3 week garden sit on the Cote d'Azur and then returned for a further 2 months which also included looking after the owners' dog and apartment. In 2015 we looked after a house, swimmimg pool and studio in Villeneuve lez Avignon.  The Studio was let via and we acted as hosts and cleaned the studio. During 2016 we did a 6 week house sit in Brittany where we looked after 2 cats one of which was very elderly and required twice daily insulin injections. In September & October we spent 6 weeks in Le Marche Italy where we looked after a house, garden and small vineyard, including harvesting and pressing the grapes.  In November we went to California for 6 weeks where we looked after a house and dog in a property on Grand Canal, Venice Beach. In 2017  we  looked after a lovely apartment and 2 cats in the heart of Bordeaux. We spent 2 weeks in Vaucresson near Paris looking after a lovely Cairn terrier. In September and October we returned to the house and pool sit in Villeneuve Lez Avignon. In 2018 we returned to Villeneuve lez Avignon from June to mid September  to look after the house and garden and maintain the swimming pool.

In 2019 we returned to Paris to look after Kerlchen the Cairn terrier and then went to Arles sur Tech in the Pyrenees Orientales where we looked after a house, garden and 3 lovely cats. In September we looked after Flash the cat in Cork, Ireland. In October we looked after Daisy, a blind and deaf 18 year old Westie who lived on the Isle of Arran.

2020  started with us taking care of 26 sheep and 5 hens for 2 weeks. We went back to Paris in February  to look after Kerlchen. Then the pandemic grounded us for a while.

In 2021 we returned to Arran for a 2 week sit and went to Berkshire to look after a house and 2 dogs, a lovely labrador and daschund. 

In 2022 we returned to Paris to look after Kerlchen who was having some health problems. Sadly later in the year he died. In the summer we returned to Arles Sur Tech to look after the 3 cats for a month.

In 2023 we made another return trip to Arles for 5 weeks to look after the cats. Over the Christmas period we housesat in Chapel en le Frith for Ingrid. We stayed for 3 weeks looking after her lovely cat Luna.

So far in 2024 we have looked after Bella,an Irish Setter who lived near Leeds and Milo a Bedlington Terrier who lived in York. Both were really affectionate characters.

We can provide references from all of these owners if required.  

We also let a self contained unit within our home via and you can check our reviews by going to the site and searching for Robin Hood's Bay UK and looking for The Garden Room.

We enjoy gardening, reading, walking and cooking.  We are non smokers.  We have owned cats, dogs and hens in the past and many years ago I used to ride and was used to handling horses.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our experiences of house sitting and have been privileged to have the opportunity to meet some interesting people, live in their homes and look after their pets.

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (2)

“ H & A were ideal house and cats sitters. ”

Sit Dates Apr-22-24 - May-9-24 Homeowner UKexpats, Member Since Mar-19-13

Location Roda de Bara Catalunya Spain

We totally recommend Helen and Andrew as sitters for their care and attention.
We were confident to leave them in charge while we went away.

“ Helen and Andrew lovely caring cat and house sitters. ”

Sit Dates Dec-12-23 - Jan-5-24 Homeowner NorthernLights, Member Since Oct-8-23

Location HIGH PEAK Peak District England

I couldn't be happier with my cat sitters Helen and Andrew. They are an experienced couple having looked after properties and animals in France, Italy and the UK. I felt an instant connection and trust and knew my home and cat Luna would be in safe hands. I received little reports and it was obvious Luna was happy and settled and running the show as usual! I came back to a spotless house and a very calm and well fed cat. I was also pleased to know H&A had been able to explore the Peak District and been out and about inspite of the dismal wet eather. Top endorsement to this lovely couple, 10/10!

Ingrid

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact wewillbethere
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for wewillbethere


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like wewillbethere to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR