Experienced House/Pet Sitter Retired Executive Seeks US or International Position

Username pastor1955  

Save
Age
56 - 64 years
Availability
Jul 17,2024
Occupation
retired sales excecutive
Gender
Male
Status
Single male
Term
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

I have been using housecarers service and house/pet sitting since 2016.

I am a recently retired sales executive from Santa Cruz California on the beautiful Monterey Bay. I have raised three sons there who are now completely independent, two of them have sons of their own and the third is a globetrotting surfer.Travel has always brought joy to my life and a richness of experience I have received no other way. My career required me to travel a great deal and now that I am retired I find that I miss it. I prefer not to take tours but to experience local flavors for longer periods so have rented homes instead of opting for the usual hustle bustle of touring.

I recently lost my dog who was a trusted companion of 17 years. I cannot bring myself to replace her so I thought caring for another pet might ease the loss somewhat. My main exercise was walking her along the beaches for miles until she became too old to do it with me. I would enjoy nothing more than to walk again with another dog along a beach or wooded path. I am familiar with older dogs and cats and their special needs The queen of our house was an aloof Persian mixed cat who showed love only when it suited her but I still miss her very much. I think she believed us to be her slaves existing only to care for her needs but I can't be certain.  I was raised on a California hay and cattle ranch so animals and farm equipment of all kinds are familiar to me as well. We have had many birds in the house including parrots and Love Birds. I also kept a beautiful aquarium for many years. My family kept many Mediterranean fruit trees, citrus, olive, almond and pomegranate, so I am very familiar with caring for your orchard if you have one. 

I have bought and remodeled several homes and am very handy with tools and landscaping. I worked as a pool cleaner in college so that is not a problem for me either. I also managed a small apt complex at one time in my life. I have enjoyed traveling in Europe and am open to almost any location on the continent. In particular rural France and Italy as I have an interest in wine.

As you can see by my references Hawaii is a focus for me. I have spent many vacations in Hawaii and know all of the islands quite well. In particular The Big Island where I spent my summers as a young man caring for an aged uncle. My ancestors emigrated to Maui from Spain at the turn of the last century and I would like nothing more than to take the time to explore my heritage on the islands. Homeowners ask for my return here most often as they visit the Mainland annualy.

I have lived in Chicago for a time and consider it one of the greatest cities in the world! I also attended school in Reno NV for a couple of years and have returned many times in my life for both work and pleasure. It is truly the "Greatest Little City In The World". I am very familiar with most areas of Southern CA as well. 

I have never traveled the Pacific Rim or Asia but would welcome that experience as well. I have traveled in South Africa around Cape Town and would love to return someday. I have spent several months in Costa Rica and love it so would return in a heart beat.  There are also many places in the USA that I have yet to see and am open to the right position. South America is also of interest to me.

CA sits are easy for me since I live on the Central Coast and can drive to most any CA location.

I am unmarried and have been single for many years so have come to enjoy my freedom as a bachelor. That being the case I have no spousal responsibilities to hold me back from last minute travel decisions.

I am clean to the point of being anal about it or so I am told. I enjoy simple meals with a little wine but other than that I do not enjoy the party lifestyle at all. Actually, a prefer traveling alone and living alone. 

I am also an amateur writer and spend much of my time reading or writing short novels that can be purchased on Amazon.(see A Texas Cowboy In Tuscany and South Swell are two of my novels) I also play the guitar and paint watercolors for pleasure.

I am financially responsible and independent as well and enjoy an excellent credit rating. I have exercised religiously all of my life so am strong and in good health. I am a non-smoker.

I have decided to rent out my home to two traveling nurses at the local hospital and travel for a while before deciding on my next chapter in life.

References provided upon request.

Thank you for reading my profile.

Richard

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ Warm, friendly, dependable ”

Sit Dates Jan-11-24 - Jan-16-24 Homeowner archiemom, Member Since Aug-3-13

Location San Francisco California United States

Rick sat for us earlier this month.  He was a terrific house and  cat sitter.  Our cat Archie really seemed to like him (and vice versa).  And he left the house in terrific shape.  We hope he agrees to sit for Archie again.

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact pastor1955
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for pastor1955


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like pastor1955 to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR