Responsible animal/outdoor lover

Username starrysojourner  

46 - 55 years
Mar 4,2024 My Calendar
artist/outdoor photographer
3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

Note as of summer 2023 - I presently live in a cabin without cell/internet, so I may not respond immediately if you contact me, but will do so as soon as I'm able! Because I am now dealing with a health condition known as electrical hypersensitivity, I need to find rural/forested locations that are away from urban areas/close cell towers etc, and prefer to live without electricity. I am experienced in doing this, using wood fires, hauling water, etc.

I am a very neat quiet woman aged 54 who loves to travel and explore new places. I especially love the peace and beauty of the outdoors, and enjoy going for walks and hikes. I have traveled a good deal, and lived/studied abroad in Europe, as well as different parts of the US. I am both artistic and intellectual, currently pursuing outdoor photography and some other creative projects. Traveling to new places helps to inspire my creativity as well as providing the opportunity to photograph new locales. While I get excited to visit and learn about new places, I also have a quiet contemplative personality - which others have remarked is calming to be around - and I enjoy quiet times at when housesitting, I like to spend some time exploring the area and also some time relaxing in the home, pursuing such activities as reading, writing, or editing my photos.

I have much experience house/farm/pet/garden sitting, and am deeply respectful of others' space and property.  For many years I did periodic house and pet sits in different parts of the country  by word of mouth; more recently I have been connecting  with homeowners through this site - for two years before Covid and now am joining again after that break.

I am honored when someone entrusts their home and animals to my care, and strive to do my utmost to reward their trust with excellent and responsible caretaking. I have owned pets myself,and I love animals deeply and connect well with them, often receiving the curiosity and friendship of timid creatures who are generally afraid of strangers, at times surprising their owners in this. I am very gentle and affectionate with all animals, and sensitive to their unique needs and personalities. I will enjoy walking, playing and cuddling with them as they desire (and may even sing little songs to them), or can respect their need for space if that's what they prefer. I am experienced in administering oral medications, injections and subcutaneous fluids.  Animals I have cared for - for others -  include dogs, cats, sheep, goats, horses, chickens, and fish. I also grew up with a menagerie of beasts in our family home - dogs, cats, fish, birds, snakes, rabbits, mice and rats, hamsters, guinea pigs...I have lived rurally by myself, including while working on a large sheep farm in Wisconsin for 1.5 yrs, which I caretook in the owners' frequent absence. I have for the past two years been living rustically in the Olympic rainforest.

I don't smoke or drink, am very conscientious, and strive to leave another's home immaculately clean. I will be happy to send you updates  if you desire while away, or to be in contact however you prefer. 

I look forward to discussing your needs with you.

Thank you - and Blessings!

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact starrysojourner
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for starrysojourner

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site:
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like starrysojourner to your Favorite House Sitters List