Semi-Retired Veteran Looking To Experience New Places

Username Logan8285  

Save
Age
37 - 45 years
Availability
Jul 14,2024 My Calendar
Occupation
Retired
Gender
Male
Status
Single male
Term
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days

About Jared:

Salutations, I'm Jared.  I have traveled all over the world and never tire of seeing new places and meeting new people. I love to care for and work with animals (I'm a certified dog trainer), garden, do general maintenance/upkeep, ride bikes, read books, climb mountains, sail, and eat great food. I settled in Aloha, OR in 2018 after a 8 month van trip of the US and falling in love with the Oregon coast.  I love being in new places, experiencing new cultures and looking for my next place for roots. I'm a firm believer in leaving a place better than I found it whether that's a campsite, a spot on the beach for a day, hiking trail, or your home and I look forward to the opportunity.  

Work Experience:

I am a retired military veteran with 15 years experience in logistics, asset and personnel management, and curriculum development.  In addition to operating government budgets, my core skillset is as a Survival subject matter expert which has allowed me to work with many foreign nations: Djibouti, China, Singapore, Panama, Ireland, Spain, Germany, Australia, Iraq, Afghanistan and Canada.  This has afforded me the experience and appreciation of cultures, customs and lifestyles from all walks of life and nearly every continent.  As a semi-retiree, I currently spend my time boarding and training dogs and traveling as much as possible as a part-time digital nomad.

Volunteer Experience:  

The Salvation Army, Meals on Wheels, ICRC (International Committee of Red Cross), Second Harvest Food Bank, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Open Doors Food Bank, Habitat for Humanity, It's the Pitts Dog Rescue and Paws Animal Shelter.

Animal Experience

Trainer Certificates: 6 month 1,000 hour Master Dog Trainer program, Robert Cabral’s 100 hour Shelter Dog Course, AKC Canine Good Citizen Evaluator, Field K9 Casualty Care Course (K9 Anatomy Vital Signs, Point of Injury Care, Bandaging, Emergency Management, Evacuation, Narcotic Toxicity, Heat Injury, Bloat). With both training and boarding I take the dogs that have been turned away by other trainers/sitters.

Boarding/Sitter Experience: As a life long dog enthusiast I was the person that friends had board or sit their dog, particularly if they had reactive behaviors, bite history or were especially big/strong. As a professional trainer/handler I’m far more equipped to ensure proper care for your furry family member. I board personal dogs as well as dogs from rescues as well as within peoples homes as needed.  I'm a firm believer in leaving a place better than I found it whether that's a campsite, a spot on the beach for a day, hiking trail, or your home and I look forward to the opportunity.  

Trainer Experience:  2 years as a professional trainer/handler protection, detection, tracking, Emotional Support Animal and service dog training.  I specialize in behavior modification of the most reactive dogs and have never turned a dog away regardless of bite history.

Foster and Rescue Experience: 4 years of foster experience with 501c3 non-profit canine rescues in San Diego, Los Angeles and the greater Portland areas.  My responsibilities with them along with training includes the following:  Feeding, exercise, grooming, house training, medical care or nursing after surgeries and in the field (ie: administering medication, cleaning/dressing wounds, re-bandaging, and ensuring crate rest), transport to/from veterinarian appointments, transport to/from and handling foster animal(s) for adoption events, transport to/from adoption interacts, basic training, leash training, and behavior modification work (ie:  chewing, jumping, anxiety, aggression/reactivity).  The majority of my time is spent with animals requiring medical and behavioral rehabilitation including:  Recovery from surgeries, breaks, skin/wound infections, hair loss, stitches, neglect, open wounds, crate/separation anxiety.

In addition, I’ve worked periodically on a Alpaca farm on Vancouver Island, British Columbia working with:  Lamas, Alpacas, Goats, Calves, Chickens, Cats and Dogs.

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Logan8285
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for Logan8285


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like Logan8285 to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR