Retired educator, non-smoker, vegetarian, multilingual.

Username DutchessMargaret  

65 + years
Jun 12,2024
retired educator
Single female
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 2 - 3 Months

HELLO! choices choices choices... looking for 2024 Mid June - August in SLC Utah/Bellingham WA

Currently I'm volunteering in Kurdistan for the Yazidi women, setting up an English Language school: Yazidi School,  in the tent camps. However, during the very hot summermonths we all take a break, my students, and I.  

Some of my grandchildren are around SLC Utah and some in WA.  and I am hoping to visit them and comine it with a pet/house sit

I have dual citizenship and dual healthinsurance etc. 

I've lived in various countries, housesat years ago -as a couple-  in Europe, from Greece to Scotland. Picked up the housesitting thread again in the USA during the wintertimes and or Summers  when I live in my tiny home in the Netherlands (the Holland part of it).   I adore pets, but because I'm gone a lot I sadly can't have my own any more. Carefull and respectful with people, houses and things, because that's how my generation was still raised and I am principally like that.  As an educator I have worked with College students teaching languages (and Methodology of L2 Teaching) in the States;  and in Europe Teaching the MS Office products plus business English privately and to companies. I have volunteered in archives (still do, also long distance) and with refugees. In the wintertime I feed the birds and in the summertime I celebrate the bees, butterflies and the geese flying over each morning and night, besides the "undocumented" felines wandering about the large garden complex where I have my tiny house, in Holland.  I so love gardening and bringing people together in my Dutch garden. I love walking with dogs, in rain, wind and weather. Cats snuggle up when reading a book. Choral singing, esp Renaissance, has been my breath and I structurally listen to classical radio stations, but oh boy, blue grass, and Jazz delight me as well. 

I am vegetarian, don't smoke, nor drink, except for pots of tea, and waterkefir.

I'd love to housesit for you, with or without pets or veggie/flower  gardens.

Kind regards,


Fastest contact is via text or call:

Dutch phone /

                1 - 

PS I will be living in a tent camp in Kurdistand to get my school going, and intend it to expand to all the other camps. The survivors are my target group: those young women who survived the genocide but wwere taken by isis as sksslaves are trauatized and want to study, but there is not option for them in the tent camps. So: off I go  with my Yazidi School foundation

If you go to GoFundMe and type in "yazidi women"  or my last name "Rijkelijkhuizen" you can read upon it, donate and share. I would so appreciate that!

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ Most amazing housesitter ”

Sit Dates Dec-10-21 - Feb-21-22 Homeowner brigitk, Member Since May-8-16

Location Zurich Switzerland

Margaret was just perfect. Very perceptive, caring, she looked after the cats and the place in the most marvellous way. I felt super safe with her. Her communication was also very lovely, sending pictures of the cats. She's such a caring and responsible person and we are still keeping in touch, having found a friend!
Thank you so much!

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact DutchessMargaret
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for DutchessMargaret

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site:
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like DutchessMargaret to your Favorite House Sitters List