Cat-loving retired female looking to settle in for a few days/weeks

Username Synesthete  

65+ years
Apr 13,2024 My Calendar
Retired project coordinator
Married/Partnered female housesitting alone
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days

I am a recently retired 69-year-old woman living in a close-in Chicago suburb with my husband and three female cats that were rescued as kittens. The cats--Fang, Hunter, and Spooky--are now 13 years old. My husband failed retirement so he's still working most days. I'm anxious to spread my wings and settle into a community for a few days up to a couple of weeks at a time while caring for your home, your cat(s), plants/garden and/or other small animals. Depending on circumstances, my husband might join me for a brief time during my stay (but then who will care for our cats??!). Our two adult children live in Portland OR and Tucson AZ.

You'll notice my list of cities is fairly broad and eclectic; it's also not exclusive. I have a slight preference for being in a city neighborhood within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and activities (proximity to a farmers market or food co-op is a plus!). But if I'm stranded at a beach, rural farmhouse, or suburb, I've got a long list of books to get through and would gladly make walks or day trips to check out the area. Depending on the location and length of the stay, I will either drive or fly. I love traveling solo and consider the journey an important part of any destination.

I am a non-smoker, and don't use drugs; very minimal alcohol consumption (not every day or even every week). I'm currently eating about 90% vegan, and like to source my food from local, organic, and/or sustainable sources when possible. My work in the last dozen years has centered on local foods, farmers' markets, farms, CSAs, and wild Alaskan seafood (following a 15-year career as an attorney and a graphic designer before that). We've been homeowners in Chicago and suburbs for several decades. 

I am fully vaccinated and boosted for COVID.

From raising 3 cats from kittenhood (2 are sisters though you'd never know it), it's fun to experience their very different personalities. Fang is cuddly and needy; Spooky is aloof but loves to be petted and rubbed all over--except will kick, scratch, and bolt if you get too close to her tummy; and Hunter let it be known early on that she needed to be outside for much of the time. She prowls outside by night and sleeps inside by day. Before our cats, we had up to 5 guinea pigs at a time. I don't have experience with birds, ducks, or chickens, but I'm game if you are. 

For several years, through a local TNR (Trap-Neuter-Return) organization, I transported feral cats from my hometown to a humane society in the city that spayed and neutered them. This TNR organization had helped me acclimate my kitties when they were found abandoned very young.

Don't hesitate to reach out if there are other things you'd like to know about me.  

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (1)

“ Conscientious House & Pet Sitter ”

Sit Dates Feb-24-24 - Mar-2-24 Homeowner Frisco27, Member Since Apr-16-16

Location Pawleys Island South Carolina United States

To whom it may concern:

My hubby and I had the pleasure of meeting Robin to house and cat sit for us. We took her out to dinner the night she arrived. My hubby gave her a brief tour of our surroundings . She did a great job communicating and caring for Frisco. Our home was clean and tidy when we returned. She discussed any issues she had promptly.  We recommend Robin to anyone looking for a cat sitter.



Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Synesthete
identified only by your chosen username (login name).


Phone Contacts for Synesthete

Contact House Sitter

Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site:
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?


Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters

Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like Synesthete to your Favorite House Sitters List