Yes! 30yr sitting worldwide. Prefer long-term. Reliable, capable, likeable, clean, organized, Canadian. Animals like me.

Username Blackgammon  

Save
Age
56 - 64 years
Availability
Apr 5,2023
Occupation
Writer, consultant, educator
Gender
Male
Status
Single male
Term
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

Why I housesit?

Extreme traveller.

Excellent way to experience the world on a budget.

Many skills allow for a nomadic lifestyle.

Quasi-retired. 

Enjoy meeting new people. Animals. Experiencing unknowns.

Opportunity to evolve as a human.

Raised in the tropics. Prefer anywhere tropical. 

Visited over 77 countries.

Why you should consider me...

You'll get experience.

And reliable, resilient, organized, conscientious, clean and trustworthy.

An excellent communicator.

You get someone with excellent people (and animal) skills. Who'll represent you with a smile and kind words. Polite, never demanding.

Animals like me. Was told by a dog trainer in Tucson AZ in 2008... "You give off good vibes. It's because you care."

And what I don't know, I'll ask you.

What I do/did to survive...

Owned several businesses in 7 countries.

Write (non-fiction). Copywriter. 

Consultant (various skills).   

Managed resorts (Caribbean and South Pacific).

Gift for improving business success. Exceptionally creative. 

For pleasure... 

Read, write, communicate, and self-educate.

Enjoy solving problems.

Curious about all things (especially lifeform behaviour).

Bit of a health fanatic... 
Don't smoke.
Rarely drink alcohol. Never to excess. (Drunk once. Swore never again. Never have.)
No medication.
No recreational drugs.
No disabilities (physical or mental).

Healthy eater. Mostly fruit. Mostly organic.

Walk and jog 10 to 15km daily. 

Stair climb. 

Swim laps (you get bonus points if you have a pool).

Play most sports (bonus points if you have a treadmill or Concept 2 rower). 

Play online speed sudoku (level Evil). 

Latest complete health checkup -- excellent health.

Bit reclusive by choice...
Don't watch TV. Don't play music.

Not political or religious.

Enjoy good conversation.

Prefer silence.

Personality...

Prefer towns/villages to large cities.
Prefer animals to people.
Rarely eat in restaurants. 
Rarely attend parties or celebrations.

Make my bed each morning. (I mention this because how we do things says much about personality.) No dishes ever left unwashed.

Very clean (shower twice daily). Bedding changed weekly.

Friendly. Polite. Good manners.

Positive attitude. Good listener. Good communicator. 

Excellent guest (so I've been told).

Prefer using my brain than my brawn.

Avoid negative people.

Enjoy teaching/consulting on... 
Enhancing people skills.

Getting/staying healthy.

Making businesses more profitable.

How long a stay interests me?
Prefer 2 months to a year. Would consider even longer.

Will do less than 1 month. Only if already sitting close by.

Remote places and islands are welcome. So are boats/yachts. Depends length of stay, and travel cost/time.

* Also offer emergency "last minute" sitting. Client covers travel costs plus a weekly fee.

Rarely interested in...
Cold, winter places. China. War zones. 

What I can't do...

Zero tradesman skills. If you want a handyman or gardener, sorry, that's not me.

Things done reasonably well...
Speak English, French, Spanish and Italian. Bits and pieces of a few others.
Familiar with many cultures and customs. (Taught/teach how to get along.)

Sailed 53' ketch with a partner from San Francisco to Coff's Harbour, Australia.

Learnt to fly in Invercargill, NZ. 
Learnt hang-gliding and parachuting in Hawaii.
Learnt paragliding in Vancouver, Canada, 

Excellent swimmer.
Excellent driving skills. 

No criminal record.

References...

Air-bnb member 7 years. 14 reviews (13 excellent, 1 not so good.)

Housecarers - member since 2007.

Caretaker Gazette - have to look it up

Mind-My-House - member since 2020

TrustedHS - member since 2022

Thanks for your time. Much appreciated. 

Contact me now please.

P.S. Important. Because I work online, reliable high-speed wifi or wired connection is a "must-have". A deal breaker. Thank you.

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact Blackgammon
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for Blackgammon


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like Blackgammon to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR