Semi-retired, enjoying low-key adventure

Username its_jake  

Save
Age
46 - 55 years
Availability
Jun 17,2024
Occupation
IT / Self-employed
Gender
Male
Status
Single male
Term
7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

I'm a single man, no pets, non smoking.  I'm semi-retired due to a few lucky choices/investments, and when I work, I work online or sometimes pick up seasonal/odd jobs for pleasure.  I haven't done much house sitting before (once in Mexico in the nineties) but I like the idea, and so I am looking for house sits in beautiful areas where I can hike and bicycle, of long-enough duration to make the trip (and the gas mileage) worth it.

I genuinely like animals. I grew up with cats and dogs (and gerbils), and I'm not freaked out by all of the normal problems they have, up to and including giving medications and shots if necessary (and if the animal is well-behaved.)  I am also happy to take care of chickens, rabbits, etc. provided that they are well treated and allowed to roam free.  I wouldn't sleep well knowing that there are animals under my care that are unhappy.

I don't smoke, I drink very little, and I'm very tidy/clean.  When you return, your home will be in the same or better condition than you left it in.  I'm also handy and healthy (thank goodness) and happy to handle modest yard work or farm chores.

One important thing up-front: I won't sit for a home where I'm going to be on camera or under surveillance.  I will unplug any "smart" devices in the home, and lastly I'm not going to share personal information online or over a computer.  I got off that train some years ago, and haven't used a telephone or video chat app since.  But you're more than welcome to telephone a reference and all the normal good-sense stuff we used to do before we got hooked into the machines.

During a sit, I'll be available by text and we can also exchange messages on Housecarers, and I will be happy to text you daily photos of your animal companion if you would like to see him or her being walked or getting meds etc.  I will not use Zoom, etc.

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact its_jake
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for its_jake


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like its_jake to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR