Active Canadian professionals available for housesitting

Username water_n_surf  

Save
Age
46 - 55 years
Availability
Feb 8,2023
Occupation
University researcher
Gender
Female
Term
1 - 6 Days, 7 - 21 Days, 3 - 6 Weeks, 6 - 8 Weeks, 2 - 3 Months, 3 + Months

Greetings homeowners!  We are Canadian citizens living part of the year in Sweden and part of the year in Australia (and sometimes home to Canada). Our Covid year has taken us on housesits in the US, Mexico, Panama and Costa Rica as well!

One of us is a university professor (science) and the other is a retired teacher. We travel a great deal for Aly's work, mostly for extended periods while conducting research in different laboratories around the world or working remotely on manuscripts. We discovered housesitting as a way to connect with people and furry friends while we're away from home. Work related travel makes it impractical to have pets of our own, but we both love dogs, cats, rabbits, horses, and really, just about any living creature. We're so much happier having a dog to walk or cat to cuddle. It gives us a sense of place, a chance to explore locally and a way to be of service.

As homeowners ourselves, we understand what it is to keep up a property and leave it in wonderful condition. We have owned and lived in suburban homes, rural houses and urban flats, and we've done all the upkeep, renovations and repairs on these. In addition, we have off-grid acreage in Canada with a house and cabins that we have maintained for over twenty years, so we are very familiar with generators and mechanical systems, as well as plumbing, electrical, woodstoves, etc.  We have been housesitting now for more than a dozen years (50 sits, many of them repeat sits) and have taken care of many beautiful homes and pets in Australia, Canada, US, Norway, Sweden, Aruba, Indonesia, France, Spain, Austria, Ecuador, Costa Rica , Mexico, Panama, and New Zealand, so we're comfortable in just about any setting. We're familiar with many of maintenance and repair issues that may arise, and we have the skills to deal with these (swimming pool pump failures, broken appliances, floods, veterinary emergencies: we've dealt with lots of different problems and have always been able to resolve them). In addition to cats and dogs, we have cared for goats, sheep, horses, pigs, donkeys, llamas, various lizards, hamsters, guinea pigs, fish and birds of all kinds. We both love gardening and will happily take care of your plants and grounds.

We do not smoke or drink, and prefer a quiet evening sharing the peace of your home with your pets. We are very security conscious and will always ensure that your property is protected. Our motto is to 'treat it like our own,' so you know you will come home to a clean, well-cared for house.

Mostly when we are housesitting, we like quiet time for writing and working on manuscripts, so our only requirement is good internet. We are generally home most of the day, and Karen is retired but very physically active, so very happy to undertake projects and gardening as well as pet care, including long dog walks, farm tasks etc. 

We are both energetic, outdoor-loving people, who daily run, walk, swim, or cycle, and enjoy exploring new places.

Please check out our profile here; we're happy to provide you with many references from previous sits. Hope to hear from you!

Homeowner Feedback / endorsements (3)

“ Good Experience ”

Sit Dates Mar-24-22 - May-3-22 Homeowner Tomatolady, Member Since Feb-8-16

Location Cedaredge Colorado United States

Karen did an ablosutely ourstanding job with our home, plants, cat, and decorative pond & fish, and took excellent care of a challenging situation with the pond.  

She kept us updated on everything going on, and the cat absolutely loved her.  He is an old cat and needs lots of love, which she gave him.  He was spoiled when we returned home, which is good for an older animal. 

She made friends with neighbors and others in the area, all of whom enjoyed doing cross country skiing, bicycling, and hiking with her. 

We highly recommend Karen to look after your home, pets and plants the way you would care for them.  She was respectful of the our organization and the way the way we keep things, and left our home clean and our plants, cat and pond in impeccable condition.  

Kathi, Cedaredge, CO

“ Excellent, trustworthy house sitter ”

Sit Dates Mar-15-22 - Mar-24-22 Homeowner Colorado_814, Member Since Apr-23-17

Location Telluride Colorado United States

Karen is a wonderful house sitter. She took excellent care of our 2 border collies and cat, and they seemed super happy and relaxed when we returned from our vacation.  She also left our house absolutely spotless.  I picked her up at the airport and drove her to our home in Telluride and really enjoyed our conversation.  I highly recommended Karen and would welcome her back any time.

“ Best sitters ever! ”

Sit Dates Aug-14-21 - Aug-31-21 Homeowner Tacohunter1, Member Since May-5-21

Location Rincon de Guayabitos Mexico

Alyssa and Karen are not just lovely people, they are also well seasoned house/pet sitters. Although our sit was short term, they made the long drive from their former sit to us, then endured 3 full days without power and limited water due to a storm. They operated the generator and took great care of our autistic dog, who normally doesn't eat for several days after we leave, but was fat and happy when we got home. He even pouted and didn't eat for two days after they left. Then Hurricane Nora hit and they weathered that like champs!  Highly recommended!

Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner, and receive your own confidential message system so you can contact water_n_surf
identified only by your chosen username (login name).

OR

Phone Contacts for water_n_surf


Contact House Sitter


Please click on the register button below to join free as a home owner,
for access to House Sitters' contact phone numbers.




OR


You have already saved this Housesit

Change Profile Picture

  • Login (top right of this page)
  • Select the Photos Button at the top of your Dashboard
  • Select a photo from your computer with proportions to suit the frame on your profile. Hint: Rectangular photos with ratio approx: 3 wide: 2 high; will resize better than tall or skinny ones. We auto resize the profile photo to fit, but the top may be cut if it is a tall/ skinny photo.
  • If needed, Here is a free - easy to use resize site: http://www.picresize.com
  • The profile Picture must be uploaded to position 1 /slot 1 of your gallery .
  • Non-paid limited Sitter Guest members may upload photos. They will display on your profile when you contribute to the running of the Housecarers community with your Annual Subscription.
  • Increase your response with a photo. Homeowners like to see a face.

You must be a logged on Homeowner member to save Homeowner profiles

Do you want to store this profile
in Your Favorite House Sitters list?



  

Add Sitter to Favorite House Sitters


Please click on the Register button below to Register as a Home owner, for your own Home owner Portal, so you Add House Sitters like water_n_surf to your Favorite House Sitters List




OR